Oceania Countries with Languages, Nationalities & Flags

Last Updated on October 17, 2023

Oceania Countries! Oceania is one of the continents where many countries lie hidden from the rest of the world, but that doesn’t mean that we should not remember their names. In this section, you will be presented with the English names of the countries in Oceania, which will expand your vocabulary and give you a way to easily talk about this part of the world. Whether you are planning to visit one of these countries or whether you need to know the names for your job, you will find this section very useful.

Oceania Countries

Oceania countries are the countries included in the region called Oceania, which is formed of Australia and most of the island countries and territories in the Pacific Ocean. There are 14 Oceania countries in total, spanning the Eastern and Western Hemispheres. Oceania is technically not a continent like Asia, Africa or Europe because Australia is the continent (a single-country continent). Oceania is considered to be a region when those other oceanic territories are grouped with Australia. The region spans 3,291,903 square miles (which is 8,525,989 square kilometres). The largest Oceania country is Australia and the smallest is Tokelau (which spans just 5 square miles), located in Polynesia.

List of countries in Oceania and countries in Australia with ESL infographics and flags. Learn these Oceania countries names to enhance your vocabulary words in English.

List of Countries in Oceania & Australia

  1. Vanuatu
  2. Tuvalu
  3. Tonga
  4. Solomon Islands
  5. Samoa
  6. Papua New Guinea
  7. Palau
  8. New Zealand
  9. Nauru
  10. Marshall Islands
  11. Kiribati
  12. Fiji
  13. Australia

Oceania Countries with Languages, Nationalities & FlagsPin

Oceania Countries with Languages and Nationalities


  • Nationality: Australian
  • Language: English


  • Nationality: Fijian
  • Language: English / Fijian/ Hindi


  • Nationality: Kiribati
  • Language: English

Marshall Islands

  • Nationality: Marshallese
  • Language: English/ Marshallese


  • Nationality: Micronesian
  • Language: English


  • Nationality: Nauruan
  • Language: Nauruan/ English

New Zealand

  • Nationality: New Zealand
  • Language: English / Maori


  • Nationality: Palauan
  • Language: English / Palauan

Papua New Guinea

  • Nationality: Papua New Guinean
  • Language: English/ Hiri Motu/ Tok Pisin


  • Nationality: Samoan
  • Language: Samoan/ English

Solomon Islands

  • Nationality: Solomon Islander
  • Language: English


  • Nationality: Tongan
  • Language: Tongan/ English


  • Nationality: Tuvaluan
  • Language: Tuvaluan/ English/ Samoan/ Kiribati


  • Nationality: ni-Vanuatu
  • Language: Bislama/ French/ English

Countries in Oceania & Australia with Languages, Nationalities & Flags | Infographic

Oceania Countries with Languages, Nationalities & FlagsPin

Countries in Australia & Oceania | Video

Frequently Asked Questions

How many countries are there in Oceania?

There are 14 sovereign states in Oceania. This region is made up of numerous islands scattered throughout the Pacific Ocean, including Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands.

Which countries make up Oceania?

Oceania comprises several island nations and territories, including Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Samoa, Tonga, Kiribati, Micronesia, Nauru, Marshall Islands, Palau, and Tuvalu. Each of these countries has its own unique culture and history, making Oceania an incredibly diverse and fascinating region to explore.

What are some common cultural features in Oceania countries?

While each country in Oceania has its own distinct culture, there are some common cultural features shared across the region. These include strong connections to the land and sea, with many communities relying on fishing and agriculture for sustenance. Traditional art forms, such as carving, weaving, and tattooing, can also be found throughout the region, often reflecting the unique stories and histories of the local people.

Languages in Oceania are also diverse, with English being widely spoken in many countries, but over 800 languages are spoken in Papua New Guinea alone. Polynesian, Micronesian, and Melanesian languages remain widespread and are often celebrated as essential components of these countries’ cultural identities.

What are the capitals of Oceania countries?

Oceania’s countries have various capital cities, showcasing their unique geographical and cultural attributes. Here’s a list of the capitals for your reference:

  • Australia: Canberra
  • New Zealand: Wellington
  • Papua New Guinea: Port Moresby
  • Fiji: Suva
  • Solomon Islands: Honiara
  • Vanuatu: Port Vila
  • Samoa: Apia
  • Tonga: NukuÊ»alofa
  • Kiribati: Tarawa
  • Micronesia: Palikir
  • Nauru: Yaren (unofficial)
  • Marshall Islands: Majuro
  • Palau: Ngerulmud
  • Tuvalu: Funafuti

What are the major geographical features of Oceania countries?

Oceania’s geography is as diverse as its cultures and includes a range of natural features, such as mountains, forests, atolls, and lagoons. The region is primarily known for its beautiful and often remote islands, many of which are surrounded by stunning coral reefs. Australia, being the largest country in Oceania, contains a diverse array of landscapes from deserts to rainforests and boasts unique wildlife that can’t be found anywhere else in the world. New Zealand, on the other hand, is famous for its dramatic mountain ranges, lush greenery, and geothermal wonders. 

Oceania Countries Vocabulary Practice

1. Flashcard


2. Listening Practice


3. Drag and Drop


All Countries

Learn useful list of countries with languages, names of countries and nationalities.

5 thoughts on “Oceania Countries with Languages, Nationalities & Flags”

Leave a Comment